DesignNorth Slope Housing prototypes

North Slope Housing Prototypes

CCHRC partnered with the Tagiugiullu Nunamiullu Housing Authority (TNHA) to design homes in six North Slope villages. The homes feature a unique foundation system adapted to the permafrost conditions in the high arctic. Homes were constructed in Atqasuk over the 2010 and 2011 building seasons. The design will be expanded to the communities of Wainwright, Point Lay, Nuiqsut, Kaktovik, and Anaktuvuk Pass.


TitleTypeResource Link
North Slope Housing PrototypesSnapshots


Related Projects